Back to Section Home

Honor Society Students Earn Statewide Awards

Honor Students

Honor Society Students
Earn Statewide Awards


Butte College honor students Nicolas     Simcox and Vanessa Burrows earn placement on the 2012 Phi Theta Kappa     All-California Academic Team.

Butte College's honor society students earned prestigious awards from the Nevada/California Phi Theta Kappa Annual Convention including:

--A Second Place – Distinguished Chapter Award; Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award; Honors in Action Award; Participation Award;
--Distinguished Scholar – Daniel Curiel; Distinguished Chapter Member – Bettyjo Wright; Distinguished Chapter Advisor – Jo Anna Birdsall;
--Literary Award – Justin Margolis; and Art Award – Tiara Phillips.

Students Nicholas Simcox and Vanessa Burrows secured placement on the 2012 Phi Theta Kappa All-California Academic Team. Simcox captured a spot on Team #1, while Burrows is on Team #3.

Additionally, Al Renville Butte College Vice President of Student Services was selected for the Phi Theta Kappa Distinguished College Administrator Award for years of ongoing support to the honor society.

Renville will be presented the award at Phi Theta Kappa's International Convention in Tennessee in April before an audience of 3,500 students, chapter advisors, and college presidents.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official international honor society for two year colleges, recognizing academic programs and encouraging academic achievement of its student members by providing local, regional, national, and international opportunities for students to receive various awards and scholarships.


Butte College | 3536 Butte Campus Drive, Oroville CA 95965 | General Information 530.895.2511

Back to Top