Back to Section Home

Dean Honored as Administrator of the Year

mikeButte College Dean Honored
as Administrator of the Year

Butte College Dean of Special Programs, Mike Rasmussen, will be honored as a 2010 Administrator of Distinction by the Phi Theta Kappa international honor society during the annual convention in Orlando, FLA, on April 8.

“This is a great honor for me to not only nominated but also selected as a recipient of this award,” said Rasmussen.

The Administrator Award of Distinction is awarded to college vice presidents, deans, or leaders (other than college presidents/CEOs) serving in an administrative capacity who have demonstrated a strong level of support for local college chapters of Phi Theta Kappa. This year 24 administrators from across the United States, including Rasmussen, were selected for this prestigious award.

From 2004 to 2009, Butte College’s Extended Opportunity Program and Services (EOPS) program, under the direction of Rasmussen, sponsored lifetime memberships in Phi Theta Kappa for 298 educationally and economically disadvantaged students.

“A lifetime membership is beyond the economic means of these students. By sponsoring their membership, we acknowledged their academic achievements as well as let them know how proud we are of them. It is also our challenge to them to keep achieving,” said Rasmussen. “This award really honors the entire EOPS staff for the support they provide to students and recognizes the importance of our college’s honor society.”

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa, founded in 1910, is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. The local chapter of Phi Theta Kappa—Beta Theta Kappa-- was founded at Butte College in 1999.

Butte College | 3536 Butte Campus Drive, Oroville CA 95965 | General Information 530.895.2511

Back to Top